Suicide Prevention Renewal Requirement

School nurses, school counselors, school psychologists, and school social workers earning or renewing their second tier certification beginning July 1, 2015 are required to demonstrate a minimum of three (3) hours of training in suicide prevention through a PESB approved curriculum or completion of a Department of Health (DOH) program. Download this sheet.

Trainings no longer included in this list:
  • Suicide Risk Assessment and Management (American Healthcare Institute) (also in-person) (removed from list in 2015
  • WA Psychological Association Suicide Assessment & Treatment (Washington State Psychological Association) (removed from 2015 list) 

Issues of Abuse Syllabus - PESB posts this as guidance for assuring the components of RCW 28A.410.035 are met.